Relax? Who Has Time?

Do YOU know how to relax?

We live in a busy, busy, busy world.  Lots of buzzing about, buzzing off, zipping here, zapping there, popping in, popping out, and all the while….we claim to be exhausted.  Is it any wonder with all the popping, buzzing, zipping, and such?  It’s as if we’ve forgotten how to relax.  We’re so busy with every moment scheduled that we even overload our time off with everything BUT relaxation.

We guzzle energy drinks, energy shots, vitamins, tablets, and, yes I’m guilty of, coffee by the gallon.  

Then we wonder why:

  1. We can’t sleep.
  2. The sleep we do get is not restful, because it isn’t really sleep, it’s just unconsciousness.
  3. Morning seems to slap us WAY too early.
  4. We are stressed, irritable, cranky, crabby, and otherwise generally in a pissy mood.
  5. We are tired ALL the time.

It is not my contention that everyone merely lie down and do nothing for their holiday.  There are those of us who would be perfectly content to do so, and some of us would implode from lack of input or interaction.  It IS my contention that sometimes we need to slow down a bit.  Don’t want to overdo.

Think about this…..our jobs are called “work”…..when we exercise, we are “working” out………when something functions properly, we say it “works”……..when we agree with something, it “works for me.”   


Then there’s the whole marketing aspect of this epidemic.  The sleeping pill people are in cahoots with the mattress people who are working with the white noise machine folks who are working with the doctors who have ties to the pharmaceutical people with the stress meds who are shaking hands with cardiologists who are rubbing elbows with the “WORKOUT MORE” conglomerations…..and on and on and on.  Cosmetic companies count on stress and age greying our hair, wrinkling our skin, sagging, stretching, and otherwise looking not so fresh.  Hence the obsession to look, act, and hopefully feel younger.


Wish to feel better and younger?  SLOW DOWN once in a while.  Enjoy your time on this galloping orb!  You can’t do it all no matter how hard you try.  And, unless you’re the only undertaker at the gunfight, there’s a few minutes each day you can take a deep breath and relax.  Perhaps even unwind.

Categories: Hmmmmm........ | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “Relax? Who Has Time?

  1. trust me, i want to relax. i love relaxing or at least i think i remember loving it! sometimes it just isnt possible for seasons in our lives. i think that often times we stress too much over the fact that we think we should be resting when we cant. As in all things there are times of plenty and times of famine.

    as much as i joke about not doing it, i do love to relax and am excited for the possibility one day! Lord willing!

  2. Slow down? Relax? OMGoodness, those words almost sound foreign…but again some great and much needed advice. I mean who can argue with a Kangaroo?

    • Yeah, I speak jibberish fluently. 🙂

      Come on now…..deep breath. Do I need to call for a National Relax Day at the beach? I’ll buy first round.

      I loved the kangaroo. And the pose was perfect.

      • Ah a day at the beach! What a dream, soon you’ll be seeing some pics of me enjoying the beach in Vietnam…Work related but still it’s on a resort so I’ll make the time. I’ll order a round and drink them both, one just for you!

  3. How did you get that snap of me in the hammock…relaxing…and showing off?

  4. I don’t know how people get anything done without gallons of coffee.

    • I am working on a patch to replace my current IV system. Figured if I could replace my blood with coffee it would be much cheaper and much less sleep required.

  5. love the kangaroo!!

  6. I try to relax…All that rushing around ages a person, I sometimes go so fast I burn myself out and look 20 years older…..once I catch up on my sleep, it’s like a time machine and I am instantly transported back…back to burn myself out again….

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.